After establishment in the year 1990, the department has made several strides in academic, research and extension activities. At present with five faculty members and a band of dedicated research scholars, the department has kept pace with the time in development of syllabus, conducting researches through funded projects and guiding Ph.D. students. The department has the reputation of producing large number of NET/SET qualified students who have been awarded with suitable placements in public life. Department has been funded by UGC SAP and DST-FIST programs. In addition facultymebers are having projects from various funding agencies like ISRO, UGC, DST, DAE etc. The faculty members of the department have research collaboration with different national and international laboratories.

  • Year of Establishment: 1990
  • Head of the Department: Prof. Syed Arshad Hussain
  • Programs Offered: M.Sc. in Physics and Ph.D. in Physics
  • List of Present Faculty Members: click here
  • List of Faculty Members since inception: click here
  • List of all Heads of Department of Physics: click here
  • List of some prominent departmental alumni: click here
  • List of Students of the department (2015-20): click here
  • Department has active 08 MOUs with other groups/institute: click here

Syllabus for Various Courses Offered:

According to INDIAN RESEARCH INFORMATION NETWORK SYSTEM (IRINS), INFLIBNET , Govt. of India, Department of Physics, Tripura University TOPS among the all departments of Tripura University with respect to research profile.

All faculty members of the Physics Department also rank within the TOP TEN faculty members of Tripura University.


Third International Conference on Material Science (ICMS2020)